Live a Great Life Anyway …

A Good Laugh …

on July 12, 2015

Happy because we laugh

Yes … you might have to read that again in order to let it land. Maybe a couple of times.

There is something so deeply nourishing about having a good chuckle … or even better … one of those belly laughs that make your cheeks hurt.  On those days when it all seems like too much … when the weight of life and love and soldiering on become burdensome – we must deliberately seek out a good laugh.

Yes, even when it feels like there is nothing even remotely humorous to smile about … or … even when it feels like laughing would be a betrayal of the pain/sadness you are currently marinating within.  For example, six years ago today, my dad passed over …. very unexpectedly at an outdoor BBQ with family.  He had just loaded his plate and proclaimed “This is great!” And, that was it.  My heart feels tender in recollection … but I know he would not want me to sulk away the day.  So I am reminding myself to have a laugh.

A good laugh has helped me get through some of the worst times in my life.  In fact, sometimes there is nothing left to do but laugh. Finding the humor in something becomes a very adaptive response that says …“Okay … you got me.” And once we concede that there is no point arguing with something we cannot control …we are able to carry on, move forward and free ourselves from the frustration of the moment.

This conversation  reminds me of that old Zen proverb that says “Let go … or be dragged.”  There is something about the wisdom in those words that makes me snicker quietly to myself.  Maybe it’s because I have been ‘dragged’ more than I dare to admit.  Anyway, some of those ‘trying’ moments in our lives actually become the perfect fodder for some great story telling once they are in far enough in the ‘past’.

So, I saw this little cartoon on Pintrest the other day … and … yes, I laughed out loud.  It spoke about THAT part of me … that part of me that appears to be capable, competent and have it all together.  Yes … it tickled my funny bone and I had a little chuckle at myself with myself.  A good giggle really can take the edge off the inevitable ‘irritablilties’ in life.

cda2bf99918b8b550308f2eb90cc6226

The good news is that we don’t have to wait around for something to spontaneously spark our laughter.  Everyday, we get a chance to make life better/brighter by purposely cultivate a laugh or two … i.e. choose to watch a funny movie,  check out some jokes on-line, read some greeting cards in the ‘humor’ section, call a funny friend etc.  You get the idea …

What makes you laugh?  For example, I don’t really get the humor in movies like “Home Alone” but watching my husband howling until the tears are tricking down his cheeks while watching them gets me going too.  I also find it entirely hilarious when little kittens are frolicking and jump straight sideways and then topple over.  It makes my heart smile just thinking about that right now.  Anyway, I’d love for you to leave a few thoughts about what makes you chuckle in the comments section.  Let’s share some laughs …

Hoping we all remember to deliberately put some big toothy grins into our days, Karen

3 responses to “A Good Laugh …

  1. Let go or be dragged and the comic made me think and laugh outloud! So happy I’ve found your blogging sites! Keep up the great work!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

